Coalition for Open Democracy
Board of Directors

Gordon Allen  rejoined the Board in 2020, having previously served as Chair from 08-17.  Gordon has served on many non-profit boards in New Hampshire, as well as teaching economics.  He was also Executive Director of the Monadnock Workshop in Peterborough.  Gordon also serves as the Founding Chair of WNHN-FM and as Treasurer for Open Democracy Action. (Antrim)

Ken Barnes  is a public interest lawyer.  Most recently, as a sole practitioner, his work has focused on civil rights and employment rights, including sexual harassment, unequal pay for women, and abortion rights.  As a legal aid lawyer in NH and the South Bronx, Ken stood up for the rights of poor and low-wage people who were struggling to make ends meet.  He has won lawsuits against state and federal agencies vindicating rights to health care, protecting children from abuse, and public access to Freedom of Information about “what our government is up to.”  Early on in his career, Ken successfully defended a U.S. Congressman who was being sued by the Moonies, and, while at Yale Law School, he was involved in campus speech issues.  He has done extensive volunteer work relating to immigrants’ rights and voting rights.  (Concord, NH) 

Kate Coon is Chairperson of the PeterboroughPlus unit of League of Women Voters (LWVNH), established in 2017, representing 13 towns in the Monadnock region. She is also one of 5 elected members of the Peterborough Recreation Committee, an active member of Peterborough’s Community Task Force on Housing and a board member (VP) of Peterborough Folk Music. One of the First Women of Yale College, graduating from Yale in 1973, Kate taught and advised students in greater Boston area independent schools for over 30 years, until moving with her husband Seth to Peterborough in 1998. She has enjoyed participating in the Granny D Memorial Walk and supporting Open Democracy in the enduring legacy Granny D Doris Haddock: intrepid and inspiring advocate of strong democracy. (Peterborough) 

Don Jorgensen, Treasurer – retired businessman, consulted to companies in the United States and abroad on issues of operations, leadership development, cost analysis and budgeting; currently Chair of the Manchester Boston Regional Airport Authority.  Don also serves on the Board of Open Democracy Action.  (Manchester, NH)

Bob Perry, Secretary – retired Court Reporter for NH Superior Court; member of the Board of Trustees at the Rochester Opera House; as a state Representative, served on the House Election Law Committee and the Citizen-Funded Election Task Force.  Bob also serves as Chair of Open Democracy Action (Strafford, NH)

Brian Rogers is currently the State Director for NextGen NH. Brian got his start in climate activism in 2011 while he was a student at Keene State College. He realized his love for #NHpolitics in the 2014 midterms when he began knocking doors for NextGen. Since then, he has served in multiple positions within NextGen, has worked for Climate Reality Project, and completed a 10 month term of service with Americorp in Long island, NY. Brian's deep passion for mobilizing young progressive voters is what gives him the energy to keep organizing every day.  (Concord)


** Affiliations listed for identification purposes only. Board members serve in their individual capacities.


Click here for Open Democracy Advisory Board


Olivia Zink, Executive Director 

Olivia has been working as a community organizer in New Hampshire since 2000. Before becoming OD's Executive Director, she served as the Grassroots Engagement Coordinator for the Governing Under the Influence Project in Concord, a project of the American Friends Service Committee. Olivia served as the Program Director for the Coalition for Open Democracy for four years.  She has worked on a broad range of campaigns for economic and social justice with groups including the New Hampshire Citizens Alliance, National Committee to Preserve Social Security & Medicare and the Priorities NH Campaign. Olivia also spent a year in Bolivia working with the Democracy Center.  In 2008, she was named one of New Hampshire’s “40 under 40,” by the NH Union Leader. She is a graduate of the University of New Hampshire with a degree in Political Science and a minor in Sustainable Living, and a graduate of Southern New Hampshire University with a master’s degree in Community Economic Development.

Brian Beihl, Deputy Director

Brian Beihl recently rejoined Open Democracy after having worked with the organization's NH Rebellion project in 2015 & 2016 in the run-up to the primary, and culminating with the Democracy Spring walk in April 2016.   Since then, Brian has continued to volunteer in helping to organize the Granny D Memorial Walk, and in the past year has written the New Hampshire Democracy Report and produce the Open Democracy Minute, heard on WNHN in Concord and online.   Brian's primary role will be communications and managing the Voter-Owned Elections campaign.   Contact him at or by cell at (603) 620-8300.

Doreen Desmarais, Administrator 

Doreen has more than 30 years experience in office administration, serving the non-profit, educational, labor union and for profit sectors. She has been the Administrative Assistant to the NH School Principals Association and currently manages administration, finance, and event planning for Open Democracy in Concord. In her free time Doreen enjoys gardening, volunteering and spending time with her family and pets. 

Sara Lobdell, 2020 Intern

Sara Lobdell is pursuing a Masters of Environmental Studies with a concentration in Environmental Education at Antioch University New England, where she became interested in democracy reform. At Antioch, Sara is Education and Outreach Coordinator for Glover's Ledge, the university's offsite lands for research and environmental education, as well as Student Alliance Co-Chair. Sara is excited to work with and learn from the Open Democracy staff and volunteers this summer and is grateful for this unique opportunity.

Our Extraordinary Open Democracy Fellows 

Eden Gebeyehu, Democracy Fellow, 2017

Jordan Cozby, Democracy Fellow, 2017

Kazi Ateea, Democracy Fellow, 2017

Niambi Mercado, Voting Rights Fellow, Spring 2017 
Antioch University

Jazmine Langley, Democracy Fellow, Summer 2016 
Elon University

Ian Duffee, 2015
SUNY Geneseo (Democracy Matters)

James Giles, 2015
Dartmouth College

Taisuke Iwasaki, 2015
New England College

Kimberly Manriquez, 2015
Humboldt University (Democracy Matters)

Colin McCarty, 2015
Colgate College (Democracy Matters)

Emma Stein, 2015
Union College

Showing 2 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • Alan MacDoanld
    commented 2018-01-24 18:28:35 -0500
    Olivia, a more appropriate title for your recent email of “Reducing the Power of Wealthy Donors”, might more accurately be, “Over-throwing the Power of the Wealthy Empire”.

    Alan MacDonald
    Wells, Maine
  • Jeanny Aldrich
    posted about this on Facebook 2017-09-12 18:27:11 -0400
    Our Team
Donate Recruit Events